Remembering the Asbury Outpouring

Standard

A year ago I read a Facebook post that revival was breaking out at Asbury University. Immediately it set off a spark in my spirit. “Let’s go!” said a friend when I told her. Several days later, I said, “Ok! Let’s do this!” She wasn’t able to go, but I found two other friends and we jumped in the car early Monday morning and set out for a whirlwind trip, returning Wednesday morning. Crazy, but oh so worth it! I don’t always hear the nudgings of the Holy Spirit and respond but I am sure glad I did then. Let’s keep praying for the Spirit’s outpouring over our land. I share with you today what I wrote a year ago on return from Wilmore.

I was there…in Kentucky at Asbury University…at the beginning of the week. Yes, God was there, no doubt about it. It was beautiful…awe inspiring.

I agree with the person who said it was not so much calm as gentle. I wasn’t calm…but I felt the gentle touch of God tugging and pulling at me throughout my time there. God tugging and pulling at me, no matter how gentle it is, is not what I call “calm.” It wrecks me…pulls me out of my comfort zone and pushes me to a deeper holiness.

I feel very blessed to have experienced this spiritual awakening. I didn’t get enough…I want more. I went desperate for a touch from God and I received it. But I want more. So I will pray for Wilmore but I will also pray that the fire of the Holy Spirit is unleashed here, in Kansas! Please pray with me. Come Holy Spirit, come. Wreck me…transform me. Shalom.

About cholley08

I am a servant for the Kingdom of God, working towards shalom ("the way things ought to be") in this world by sharing the reality of the Gospel of Jesus Christ to all I meet. I am a Kingdom Liver.

2 responses »

  1. Amen, we were there! So thankful you listened to the Spirit’s prompting. So glad we got to go together. Desperate for more for us, for our families, for our churches, for our state – come Holy Spirit!

    God’s Peace, Suz

    Get Outlook for Androidhttps://aka.ms/AAb9ysg ________________________________

Leave a comment